The Slocan Ramblers autumn 2019 UK tour

Hailing from Toronto, The Slocan Ramblers blend impressive bluegrass musicianship with a fresh contemporary appeal. They return on 17th October for their third UK tour in three years, including a run of dates in Northern Ireland.

The Canadian quartet is riding high after a warm reception in North Carolina at IBMA’s World of Bluegrass in late September. As official showcase artists and nominees for a coveted Band Momentum Award, The Slocans showed that they can play both traditional and modern bluegrass at the very highest level and certainly as well as any of their American contemporaries. Earlier this year, the band’s third album Queen City Jubilee (2018) was nominated for a prestigious Canadian JUNO Award for Traditional Roots Album of the Year, and it showcases the band’s renowned energy, virtuosity and songwriting prowess.

The Slocan Ramblers continue to win new fans across Canada, the USA and Europe. Touring relentlessly across North America and worldwide, they have performed at numerous festivals in recent years, including Merlefest and Rockygrass. The line-up includes Frank Evans (banjo/vocals), Darryl Poulsen (guitar/vocals), Alastair Whitehead (double bass/vocals) and Adrian Gross (mandolin). The band specialises in some excellent three-part harmony vocals that are sure to appeal to bluegrass fans, and they also cross over into old time with some top-notch clawhammer banjo playing from Frank, in addition to his bluegrass style picking.

The Slocan Ramblers will tour the UK from 17th October to 3rd November 2019. Full info and ticket links can be found on their tour page.

Thu, 17/10/2019 Baulking, OxonSt Nicholas Church
Fri, 18/10/2019 Marsden, Huddersfield Marsden Mechanics
Sat, 19/10/2019 Berkhamsted Vyne Theatre
Sun, 20/10/2019 Barry, South Wales Smokehouse Sessions
Tue, 22/10/2019 Ballybofey, Co DonegalBalor Arts Centre
Wed, 23/10/2019 Cookstown, NI The Red Room
Thu, 24/10/2019 Limavady, NI Roe Valley Arts Centre
Fri, 25/10/2019 Bangor, NI Bangor Castle
Sat, 26/10/2019 Armagh, NIMarket Place Theatre
Sun, 27/10/2019 Belfast Duncairn Arts Centre
Mon, 28/10/2019 Edinburgh The Traverse
Thu, 31/10/2019 Durham Old Cinema Launderette
Fri, 01/11/2019 Bishop Wilton, York Bishop Wilton Live
Sat, 02/11/2019 Petersfield The Studio at The Petersfield School
Sun, 03/11/2019 Whitstable Whitstable Sessions